Gilded pumpkins with brass tacks

Guilded-Brass-Thumbtack-Covered-PumpkinsI found this idea at Madigan Made and thought it would make some great fall decor.

Maybe it is just because I like shiny things, but I thought these foam pumpkins decorated with brass thumbtacks look amazing.

I love the idea and wish I had the patience (and time) to make these.

Also, this project as a whole should be fairly cheap. All you need are the pumpkins, brass thumbtacks, and gold paint if you wish to cover the pumpkin with it beforehand.

Happy Crafting!

2 thoughts on “Gilded pumpkins with brass tacks

  1. What a neat idea for a fun Thanksgiving project! It looks simple and easy, but I wonder how well they would hold up from one year to the next. With my luck I would pull them out for the holidays next year and all the thumbtacks would fall out. 🙂

    • That is a good point, I was thinking about that too! I think that is why “Madigan Made” started pushing the tacks in the pumpkin after dipping them in glue first. However, I don’t blame them for getting tired of doing that after so long! I think that if you overlap the tacks enough and make sure that they are solidly in there, and also store the pumpkins in a place where it’s more unlikely someone will knock it over, I think they should hold up pretty well. It would be interesting to find out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

